Series: Hard Ink

Review: Hard to Come By by Laura Kaye

Posted November 20, 2014 by Sherri in Reviews / 6 Comments

Review: Hard to Come By by Laura Kaye
Hard to Come By by Laura Kaye
Series: Hard Ink #3
Genres: Military, Mystery, Romantic Suspense, Suspense
Published by Avon Books on November 25, 2014
Format: Ebook
Pages: 384
Source: Edelweiss

Also in this series: Hard As It Gets, Hard As You Can, Hard To Hold On To
Purchase Links: AmazonBarnes & Noble
Book Links: Goodreads
Overall Rating:

Book Description:

Book Description:
Caught between desire and loyalty…

Derek DiMarzio would do anything for the members of his disgraced Special Forces team—sacrifice his body, help a former teammate with a covert operation to restore their honor, and even go behind enemy lines. He just never expected to want the beautiful woman he found there.

When a sexy stranger asks questions about her brother, Emilie Garza is torn between loyalty to the brother she once idolized and fear of the war-changed man he's become. Derek’s easy smile and quiet strength tempt Emilie to open up, igniting the desire between them and leading Derek to crave a woman he shouldn’t trust.

As the team’s investigation reveals how powerful their enemies are, Derek and Emilie must prove where their loyalties lie before hearts are broken and lives are lost. Because love is too hard to come by to let slip away…


Reviewed by Lynn:

Derek “Marz” DiMarzio is a man who doesn’t let his limitations stop him. Emilie Garza needs some computer help when she finds it’s sitting right next to her. This is one more of the Hard Ink series that was hard to put down. It’s a great addition to a great series.

This is one of those stories that shows how soldiers come home different from when they left. They can return both physically and mentally changed. But one thing that doesn’t change is that they still need our love, support, and even our strength. And sometimes we have to be strong because we just don’t have the credentials to give them the help they need and that’s where our love comes in – we can help find them the person/people who can help them. “It takes a village” comes to mind.

I think you would be all right in reading this as a stand-alone but if you want to understand this group, and the women that love them, I would read this series in order. But you’re lucky because this is only the third book in the series so you don’t have that many to read in order to catch up. And if you stop over to Laura’s web site, http://laurakayeauthor.com/extras/, you can find out which of Hard Ink guys would be your perfect boyfriend.

Our author is great in adding in some life lessons. The reader doesn’t really know that this is what she’s doing because they’re just enjoying the experience of getting to know some military men who’ve had some rough times. Marz is a man who is willing to stand by his convictions – he stands behind his beliefs no matter what. What I love about the suspense and mystery is that I can never figure anything out. This is what has me reading right until the very end. I think if I could figure out things too early then I would lose interest. The author does include sex but it’s not all about getting hot and sweaty. It’s to show how much the characters care about each other. Words can be graphic but nothing that I would consider to be disgusting. And when you get to the end, please make sure to read the Acknowledgements – you will get the author’s take on writing this story.

Hard As It Gets (Hard Ink, #1) – Lynn’s Review

Hard As You Can (Hard Ink, #2) – Lynn’s Review

Hard to Hold on To (Hard Ink, #2.5)  – Lynn’s Review

Hard to Come By (Hard Ink, #3)  – November 2014

Hard to Be Good (Hard Ink, #3.5) – April 2015

Hard to Let Go (Hard Ink, #4) – June 2015

Hard as Steel (Hard Ink, #4.5) – September 2015

Review: Hard to Hold On To by Laura Kaye

Posted September 1, 2014 by Sherri in Reviews / 13 Comments

Review:  Hard to Hold On To by Laura Kaye
Hard To Hold On To by Laura Kaye
Series: Hard Ink #2.5
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Military, Multicultural & Interracial
Published by Avon Impulse on August 19, 2014
Format: eARC
Pages: 200
Source: Edelweiss

Also in this series: Hard As It Gets, Hard As You Can, Hard to Come By
Purchase Links: AmazonBarnes & Noble
Book Links: Goodreads
Overall Rating:

Book Description:

Book Description:
Edward "Easy" Cantrell knows better than most the pain of not being able to save those he loves--which is why he is not going to let Jenna Dean out of his sight. He may have just met her, but Jenna's the first person to make him feel alive since that devastating day in the desert more than a year ago.

Jenna has never met anyone like Easy. She can't describe how he makes her feel--and not just because he saved her life. No, the stirrings inside her reach far beyond gratitude.

As the pair are thrust together while chaos reigns around them, they both know one thing: the things in life most worth having are the hardest to hold on to.


Reviewed by Lynn:
Edward “Easy” Cantrell is a protector to Jenna Dean when she needs one the most. He has an interesting tattoo and if you want to know what it is you’ll just have to get this book and find out. Jenna’s a little different from some characters that you may have read before. They seem to have a way of toning the stress down for each other. It’s also a story of older man and younger woman.

This author shows that even men and women can have a comfortable comradery with each other. And you wouldn’t believe that this is a novella because the author doesn’t short-change her readers in any way. This is a great read for those romantics that like military, tattoo, or multicultural (MC) reads – or if you are just someone that loves a hero. I felt that the story had an “Happy for Now” (HFN) ending because only you can decide if it’s “Happily Ever After” (HEA). But I also hope to see them again.

You could read this as a stand-alone but why would you. This is a great series and if you’re a fan of Laura’s you will want to read all about Hard Ink. Also, please make sure to read the Author’s Note and the Acknowledgements that follow the story. I have found that I can usually learn something and by reading until the end you can also sometimes find that there will be another book in the series. In this case, Hard To Come By will be coming out by the end of November.

Hard As It Gets (Hard Ink, #1) – Lynn’s Review

Hard As You Can (Hard Ink, #2) – Lynn’s Review

Hard to Hold on To (Hard Ink, #2.5)  – August 2014

Hard to Come By (Hard Ink, #3)  – November 2014

Review: Hard As You Can by Laura Kaye

Posted February 25, 2014 by Sherri in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review:  Hard As You Can by Laura Kaye

Hard As You Can by Laura Kaye Series: Hard Ink #2 Genres: Contemporary, Military, Romantic Suspense Published by Avon Books on February 25, 2014 Format: Ebook Pages: 384 Source: Edelweiss Also in this series: Hard As It Gets, Hard To Hold On To, Hard to Come By Purchase Links: Amazon ✦ Barnes & Noble Book Links: Goodreads Overall Rating: Book Description:Book Description: Five dishonored soldiers. Former Special Forces. One last mission. These are the men of Hard Ink. Ever since hard-bodied, drop-dead-charming Shane McCallan strolled into the dance club where Crystal Dean works, he’s shown a knack for getting beneath her defenses. For her little sister’s sake, Crystal can’t get too close. Until her job and Shane’s mission intersect, and he reveals talents that go deeper than she could have guessed. Shane would never turn his back on a friend in need, especially a former Special Forces teammate running a […]

Divider

Review: Hard As It Gets by Laura Kaye

Posted November 26, 2013 by Sherri in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review:  Hard As It Gets by Laura Kaye

Hard As It Gets by Laura Kaye Series: Hard Ink #1 Genres: Contemporary, Military, Mystery, Romantic Suspense, Suspense Published by Avon Books on November 26, 2013 Format: Ebook Pages: 368 Source: Edelweiss Also in this series: Hard As You Can, Hard To Hold On To, Hard to Come By Purchase Links: Amazon ✦ Barnes & Noble Book Links: Goodreads Overall Rating: Book Description:Book Description: Tall, dark, and lethal… Trouble just walked into Nicholas Rixey's tattoo parlor. Becca Merritt is warm, sexy, wholesome–pure temptation to a very jaded Nick. He's left his military life behind to become co-owner of Hard Ink Tattoo, but Becca is his ex-commander's daughter. Loyalty won't let him turn her away. Lust has plenty to do with it too. With her brother presumed kidnapped, Becca needs Nick. She just wasn't expecting to want him so much. As their investigation turns into all-out war with an organized crime […]

Divider