Genre: Suspense

Review: A Christmas Code by Jacki Delecki

Posted December 18, 2014 by Sherri in Reviews / 7 Comments

Review:  A Christmas Code by Jacki Delecki
A Christmas Code by Jacki Delecki
Genres: Historical Romance, Holiday, Novella, Suspense
Published by Smashwords on November 10th 2014
Format: eARC
Pages: 166
Source: Author, Tour Host

Purchase Links: AmazonBarnes & Noble
Book Links: Goodreads
Overall Rating:

Book Description:

Book Description:
Lady Gwyneth Beaumont has long awaited the opportunity to show Viscount James Ashworth that she is no longer the impetuous child who dogged his footsteps. Now a much sought-after debutante, she is determined to prove to the hard-headed rake that she is a grown woman and a worthy participant in both the spy game and the game of love.

Ash, recently returned from three years undercover in France in His Majesty’s service, wants nothing more than to complete his final mission and retire to his bucolic country estate. However, what seemed a simple assignment to protect the Prince Regent at a Christmas party turns into a maze of intrigue, desire, and treachery.

Adding to the perilous secret operation is one problem Ash never anticipated: The appearance of the reckless, enticing Gwyneth, who has blossomed into a gorgeous woman and self-appointed spy. When a snooping Gwyneth uncovers a shocking secret, she puts herself in mortal danger.

Can Ash protect Gwyneth and the Prince from French assailants and, at the same time, win the passionate lady's heart?

Can Ash and Gwyneth both triumph as winners in the game of spies and love?


Reviewed by Sherri:

Why I Choose this Book:  The absolutely gorgeous cover, along with the holiday theme, is what attracted me to this read.

Short and Sweet Summary:  Childhood friends that have deeper feelings for each other, team up to prevent an assassination attempt at a Christmas party in Regency England.

The Characters:  Ash and Gwyneth are each strong willed and have ideas on how their courtship should progress.  As they become embroiled in the assassination plot to kill the Prince Regent, their romance begins to blossom and Ash’s protectiveness to Gwyneth is sweet to read.  Gwyneth is headstrong at times but the gal knows what she wants and goes after it with gusto; sometimes a bit too much for her own good.  Together they make a believable couple.

What I Liked:  Plots involving friends that turn into lovers are always a draw for me.  A Christmas Code also being a holiday read was perfect to get me into the Christmas spirit. It had enough of the holiday without being too sweet and the intrigue involved with solving the assassination attempt was a nice touch.

What I Didn’t Like:  There could have been a “bit” more romance but other than that I didn’t have any major issues with the story.

The Recap: A Christmas Code is a fun and sweet read with a touch of intrigue thrown in. It is not a steamy read, but the sweetness fits the story and works perfectly.

 

Review: Hard to Come By by Laura Kaye

Posted November 20, 2014 by Sherri in Reviews / 6 Comments

Review: Hard to Come By by Laura Kaye
Hard to Come By by Laura Kaye
Series: Hard Ink #3
Genres: Military, Mystery, Romantic Suspense, Suspense
Published by Avon Books on November 25, 2014
Format: Ebook
Pages: 384
Source: Edelweiss

Also in this series: Hard As It Gets, Hard As You Can, Hard To Hold On To
Purchase Links: AmazonBarnes & Noble
Book Links: Goodreads
Overall Rating:

Book Description:

Book Description:
Caught between desire and loyalty…

Derek DiMarzio would do anything for the members of his disgraced Special Forces team—sacrifice his body, help a former teammate with a covert operation to restore their honor, and even go behind enemy lines. He just never expected to want the beautiful woman he found there.

When a sexy stranger asks questions about her brother, Emilie Garza is torn between loyalty to the brother she once idolized and fear of the war-changed man he's become. Derek’s easy smile and quiet strength tempt Emilie to open up, igniting the desire between them and leading Derek to crave a woman he shouldn’t trust.

As the team’s investigation reveals how powerful their enemies are, Derek and Emilie must prove where their loyalties lie before hearts are broken and lives are lost. Because love is too hard to come by to let slip away…


Reviewed by Lynn:

Derek “Marz” DiMarzio is a man who doesn’t let his limitations stop him. Emilie Garza needs some computer help when she finds it’s sitting right next to her. This is one more of the Hard Ink series that was hard to put down. It’s a great addition to a great series.

This is one of those stories that shows how soldiers come home different from when they left. They can return both physically and mentally changed. But one thing that doesn’t change is that they still need our love, support, and even our strength. And sometimes we have to be strong because we just don’t have the credentials to give them the help they need and that’s where our love comes in – we can help find them the person/people who can help them. “It takes a village” comes to mind.

I think you would be all right in reading this as a stand-alone but if you want to understand this group, and the women that love them, I would read this series in order. But you’re lucky because this is only the third book in the series so you don’t have that many to read in order to catch up. And if you stop over to Laura’s web site, http://laurakayeauthor.com/extras/, you can find out which of Hard Ink guys would be your perfect boyfriend.

Our author is great in adding in some life lessons. The reader doesn’t really know that this is what she’s doing because they’re just enjoying the experience of getting to know some military men who’ve had some rough times. Marz is a man who is willing to stand by his convictions – he stands behind his beliefs no matter what. What I love about the suspense and mystery is that I can never figure anything out. This is what has me reading right until the very end. I think if I could figure out things too early then I would lose interest. The author does include sex but it’s not all about getting hot and sweaty. It’s to show how much the characters care about each other. Words can be graphic but nothing that I would consider to be disgusting. And when you get to the end, please make sure to read the Acknowledgements – you will get the author’s take on writing this story.

Hard As It Gets (Hard Ink, #1) – Lynn’s Review

Hard As You Can (Hard Ink, #2) – Lynn’s Review

Hard to Hold on To (Hard Ink, #2.5)  – Lynn’s Review

Hard to Come By (Hard Ink, #3)  – November 2014

Hard to Be Good (Hard Ink, #3.5) – April 2015

Hard to Let Go (Hard Ink, #4) – June 2015

Hard as Steel (Hard Ink, #4.5) – September 2015

Review: A Masterpiece of Our Love by Nikki Lynn Barrett

Posted May 20, 2014 by Sherri in Contemporary Romance, Reviews / 2 Comments
Review: A Masterpiece of Our Love by Nikki Lynn Barrett

A Masterpiece of Our Love by Nikki Lynn Barrett Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romance, Suspense Published by Self Published on March 17, 2014 Format: eARC Pages: 290 Source: NetGalley Purchase Links: Amazon ✦ Barnes & Noble Book Links: Goodreads Overall Rating: Book Description:Book Description: Two Lives Torn by tragedy. Eight-year-old Becca and twelve-year-old Hunter cling to each other and life after surviving a plane crash which stole their families. Two Souls Seeking Love. Each year, from the time she was old enough to travel on her own, Becca met up with Hunter on the island that altered their lives forever. Until he stopped showing. Her constant. Her link to the past. Gone in the blink of an eye. Two Lives Bound by Secret. Suffering more heartbreak, Hunter returns to the one place he’s always sought comfort, the island where he and Becca met. It was the place that stole from him, […]

Divider

Review: Unclaimed by Sara Humphreys

Posted November 29, 2013 by Ginny in Fantasy, Paranormal Romance, Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: Unclaimed by Sara Humphreys

Unclaimed by Sara Humphreys Series: Amoveo Legend #5 Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Paranormal Romance, Romantic Suspense, Suspense Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca on December 3, 2013 Format: eARC Pages: 320 Source: NetGalley, Publisher Purchase Links: Amazon ✦ Barnes & Noble Book Links: Goodreads Overall Rating: Book Description:Book Description: Tatiana Winters, from the Timber Wolf clan, is a spirited veterinarian who wants nothing to do with the Amoveo—the ancient race of shape-shifters who live secretly among humans. But when the Amoveo Prince’s horses fall sick, Tatiana reluctantly heads to his ranch to help. When she meets Dominic Trejada, a handsome warrior from the Tiger Clan, they instantly clash and sparks ignite. But when danger stalks near, they will have to find a way to trust each other if they want to stay alive. Great Quote: “Mate. That one word ran through his head over and over like an ancient mantra. This woman, the […]

Divider

Review: Hard As It Gets by Laura Kaye

Posted November 26, 2013 by Sherri in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review:  Hard As It Gets by Laura Kaye

Hard As It Gets by Laura Kaye Series: Hard Ink #1 Genres: Contemporary, Military, Mystery, Romantic Suspense, Suspense Published by Avon Books on November 26, 2013 Format: Ebook Pages: 368 Source: Edelweiss Also in this series: Hard As You Can, Hard To Hold On To, Hard to Come By Purchase Links: Amazon ✦ Barnes & Noble Book Links: Goodreads Overall Rating: Book Description:Book Description: Tall, dark, and lethal… Trouble just walked into Nicholas Rixey's tattoo parlor. Becca Merritt is warm, sexy, wholesome–pure temptation to a very jaded Nick. He's left his military life behind to become co-owner of Hard Ink Tattoo, but Becca is his ex-commander's daughter. Loyalty won't let him turn her away. Lust has plenty to do with it too. With her brother presumed kidnapped, Becca needs Nick. She just wasn't expecting to want him so much. As their investigation turns into all-out war with an organized crime […]

Divider

Review: Hell’s Belle by Karen Greco

Posted October 18, 2013 by Sherri in Reviews / 2 Comments
Review: Hell’s Belle by Karen Greco

Hell’s Belle by Karen Greco Series: Hell’s Belle #1 Genres: Paranormal, Suspense, Urban Fantasy Published by Createspace on September 03, 2013 Format: Ebook Pages: 224 Source: Author Purchase Links: Amazon ✦ Barnes & Noble Book Links: Goodreads Overall Rating: Book Description:Book Description: Half-vampire, half-human, Nina Martinez spent most of her life underground as part of an elite secret team of government agents who quietly take down rogue monsters — the human world none the wiser. She moves back to her hometown of Providence, RI to keep an eye on the recent uptick in supernatural activity, and to help run the bar she co-owns with her aunt. Her attempt at a “regular” life, not to mention a budding relationship with smoking hot FBI agent Max, is cut short because of a string of ritual murders targeting the city’s community of witches. But Nina’s investigation unearths deadly secrets from her long buried […]

Divider