Author: Ophelia London

Review: Love Bites by Ophelia London

Posted August 19, 2014 by Ginny in Contemporary Romance, Reviews, Romance / 10 Comments

Review: Love Bites by Ophelia London
Love Bites by Ophelia London
Series: Sugar City #1
Genres: Chick Lit, Contemporary, Contemporary Romance
Published by Entangled Bliss on August 18, 2014
Format: eARC
Pages: 117
Source: Tour Host

Purchase Links: AmazonBarnes & Noble
Book Links: Goodreads
Overall Rating:

Book Description:

Book Description:
Falling in love is like swimming with sharks…

Sharona Blaire is only in Australia for a business audit, but she’s determined to make the most of her one free night. So when she spills her drink on a handsome stranger and they end up flirting, she does something completely out of character—she kisses him. But the prospect of taking it further totally freaks her out…almost as much as discovering the next morning that the man she’s auditing is the sexy, tanned stranger she left with zero explanation.

An audit during his crew’s most important expedition yet is a complication marine biologist Jeff Cruz doesn't need—especially when the auditor is the gorgeous, fascinating woman from the night before. Out at sea with nowhere to run, he’s forced to admit Sharona draws him in like a shark to blood. But Jeff's one passion is his job, and nothing—not even love—will get its hooks in him..


Ginny’s Review:
If you’re looking for a quick piece of fluff, this book is for you! If you like sharks… even if you don’t like sharks… you’ll like this book.

Sharona & Jeff click from the first moment that she spills her drink on him (the first time… and more so when she does it the second time). They have a cute, quirky relationship that blossoms over the course of 48 hours and still doesn’t somehow feel rushed. And, beyond the romance, there are some amazing ideas and information about gathering information on Great Whites, their behaviors and habits that I will be checking to see if they’re correct.

Ophelia London has a gift. I noticed it back when I first reviewed “Abby Road” and I like her smooth, visual writing style. I also am a fan of her appreciation for classic rock (“Abby Road” and a heroine named “Sharona”? Good stuff.) I will continue to read her books.

I apologize for a short review, but it is a short, sweet book. I didn’t take any notes, or see any glaring editorial or grammar issues. There were no great quotes that stuck out. It’s not the next great American novel, but it’s sweet, fun and can be read in one sitting.

So you should read it.

** It should be noted that I loved reading this during Shark Week.

Review: Definitely, Maybe in Love by Ophelia London

Posted November 4, 2013 by Sherri in Contemporary Romance, New Adult, Reviews / 2 Comments

Review: Definitely, Maybe in Love by Ophelia London
Definitely, Maybe in Love by Ophelia London
Genres: Contemporary Romance, New Adult
Published by Entangled Embrace on October 28th, 2013
Format: eARC
Pages: 260
Source: Publisher

Purchase Links: AmazonBarnes & Noble
Book Links: Goodreads
Overall Rating:

Book Description:

Book Description:
Her theory of attraction is about to get a new angle.

Spring Honeycutt wants two things: to ace her sustainable living thesis and to save the environment. Both seem hopelessly unobtainable until her college professor suggests that with a new angle, her paper could be published. Spring swears she’ll do whatever it takes to ensure that happens.

“Whatever it takes,” however, means forming a partnership with the very hot, very privileged, very conceited Henry Knightly.

Henry is Spring's only hope at publication, but he's also the über-rich son of a land developer and cash-strapped Spring’s polar opposite. Too bad she can't help being attracted to the way he pushes her buttons, both politically and physically.  As they work on her thesis, Spring finds there's more to Henry than his old money and argyle sweaters…but can she drop the loud-and-proud act long enough to let him in? Suddenly, choosing between what she wants and what she needs puts Spring at odds with everything she believes in.

Definitely, Maybe in Love is a modern take on Pride and Prejudice that proves true love is worth risking a little pride.


Quiana’s Review:
A modern-day spin on Pride and Prejudice, Definitely Maybe in Love by Ophelia London tells the story of polar opposites Spring Honeycutt and Henry Knightly. Of course I chose this book because Pride and Prejudice happens to be one of my favorite books, which means Definitely Maybe in Love had a lot to live up to in my opinion. Ophelia London does manage to successfully put her own spin on a classic, so it became less about comparing Spring and Henry to Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth and more about acknowledging that Spring and Henry were characters in their own right.

We’re introduced to Spring who for the most part is a very complex character. She’s extremely judgmental, smart, strong and opinionated, is not a pushover, and is loyal to her friends. She also hides behind a façade, with her braids and beads, her vegetarian diet, her manner of dress, and her over the top participation in environmental protests; she uses this façade as a way to stand out on a campus where every student is just as smart as the next student. Fortunately, Spring has friends like Julia and Mel who challenge and question her when needed, thereby keeping her grounded. I did like that Spring experienced character growth, and I think meeting Henry had a lot to do with her growth.

What I loved about this book: Henry Knightly. He’s arrogant, prideful, and like Spring, has a few prejudices of his own. He could be a jerk at times, but the more we got to know him, the more we could see that he was loyal, protective, a good brother and friend. Since the story is told from Spring’s point of view, our view of Henry is distorted; although we do see glimpses that there might be more to Henry. We also see that he’s clearly attracted to Spring; he flirts with her, teases her, and pushes her buttons as often as he can. I loved all the teasing and flirting; it brought out different sides to both characters, and provided readers a break from all the angst.

Spring and Henry argued about everything from politics to fuel and economy efficient cars, but once they got past the bickering and pre-conceived notions, there was much to discover about each other. So while the misconceptions, miscommunication and arguments became a little tiresome after a while, there’s still plenty to like about these characters and their story. (Reviewed by Quiana – The Book Lover)

Review: Abby Road by Ophelia London

Posted May 9, 2013 by Ginny in Contemporary Romance, Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: Abby Road by Ophelia London

Abby Road by Ophelia London Genres: Contemporary Romance Published by Entangled Publishing on March 26, 2013 Format: Ebook Pages: 400 Source: Publisher Purchase Links: Amazon ✦ Barnes & Noble Book Links: Goodreads Overall Rating: Book Description:Book Description: Touted by the tabloids as the biggest rock star of our generation, Abigail Kelly is used to being in the spotlight. But beyond the glam of Hollywood, her world is falling apart. Still reeling from the death of her brother and wilting under the iron fist of Max, her manager, Abby banishes herself to the secluded beaches of Florida for the summer, thinking some anonymity and sunshine are just what she needs. What she finds, instead, is Todd, an ex-marine eager to embrace life after war. Together, Abby and Todd find the balance Abby’s life has been missing. That is, until Max resurfaces, demanding Abby return to Los Angeles to record her band’s […]

Divider

Review: Playing at Love by Ophelia Love

Posted November 7, 2012 by Sherri in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: Playing at Love by Ophelia Love

Playing at Love by Ophelia London Series: Perfect Kisses #1 Genres: Contemporary Romance Published by Entangled Bliss on September 25, 2012 Format: Ebook Pages: 293 Source: Publisher Purchase Links: Amazon ✦ Barnes & Noble Book Links: Goodreads Overall Rating: Book Description:Book Description: Show choir teacher Tess Johansson loves three things: music, her job, and sharing that passion with her students. But when a school budget crisis forces funding to be pulled from either the sports or music programs, she finds herself going head to head with Jack, the gorgeous new football coach who broke her heart fifteen years ago. Jack Marshall wants two things: to be closer to his young daughter and to make his mark as a football coach. Taking the new job, with the promise that he’d have time to build a solid team, gave him both. But now he must win the season with a group of […]

Divider