Author: Lisa Renee Jones

Review: Escaping Reality by Lisa Renee Jones

Posted September 16, 2013 by Ginny in Erotic Romance, Reviews / 1 Comment

Review: Escaping Reality by Lisa Renee Jones
Escaping Reality by Lisa Renee Jones
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance, New Adult, Romantic Suspense
Published by Julie Patra Publishing on July 22, 2013
Format: ARC
Pages: 250
Source: Author

Purchase Links: AmazonBarnes & Noble
Book Links: Goodreads
Overall Rating:

Book Description:

Book Description:
Infinite possibilities….
Infinite passion…..
Infinite danger….

His touch spirals through me, warm and sweet, wicked and hot. I shouldn't trust him. I shouldn't tell him my secrets. But how do I not when he is the reason I breathe? He is what I need.

At the young age of eighteen, tragedy and a dark secret force Lara to flee all she has known and loves to start a new life. Now years later, with a new identity as Amy, she’s finally dared to believe she is forgotten–even if she cannot forget. But just when she lets down her guard, the ghosts of her past are quick to punish her, forcing her back on the run.

On a plane, struggling to face the devastation of losing everything again and starting over, Amy meets Liam Stone, a darkly entrancing recluse billionaire, who is also a brilliant, and famous, prodigy architect. A man who knows what he wants and goes after it. And what he wants is Amy. Refusing to take “no” as an answer, he sweeps her into a passionate affair, pushing her to her erotic limits. He wants to possess her. He makes her want to be possessed. Liam demands everything from her, accepting nothing less. But what if she is too devastated by tragedy to know when he wants more than she should give? And what if there is more to Liam than meets the eyes?


Ginny’s Review:

Good Quote: 
“Infinite possibilities in life. I am not sure I like that idea. How many people will I be before I die?”

I often wonder if Lisa Renee Jones starts a book off thinking, “I really want something thrown at my head today.” Because, honestly, the past several books I’ve read of hers, when I have finished the book, the cliff hanger is so huge that I want to hurl something. I LOVE her books and that is the reason why, when they end, and so abruptly, I want more immediately. I’m an addict and I need another fix! This is ridiculous.

But I digress.

I very much enjoyed this book, as I have her others. This is a new series for her, and I am anxious to see where it goes.

Again, I dislike summarizing a book when I feel that the given book description does this, so let’s skip ahead, shall we?

The opening of this book was fantastic and drew me right in. I made several notes to that effect, but you read the first two pages and already you’re on a thrill ride. Also, I enjoy the name Liam, as I am a sucker for any kind of Celtic name. I want to meet my own Liam. He’s fun, in charge and you want to follow his every whim, even when it irks you.

Amy is also a good character — she stands up for herself, though she’s running scared and she doesn’t really know why, aside from the belief that the person who was responsible for her parents’ deaths is after her. I want to know who the hell her mysterious benefactor is, and why he seems so creepy, even though she hasn’t formally met him yet… he creeps me out and he’s an almost imaginary character.

One issue I did have with the book was that, towards the beginning, Amy is “baffled by the way a man I barely know manages to be silk on my raw nerves…” This is overstated. She thinks it again and again and again. I understand getting a point across but I thought it was a bit over the line of necessary when it came to this bit of plot point. Once she finally accepts it, its goes away and everyone is happy.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book! I want more, and I don’t mean to be overstating that, but it’s true. So, Ms Jones, thank you, once again, for a fantastic book that draws me in, captivates me and then abruptly ends, leaving me out in the cold, looking at my eReader in disbelief. Bravo.

Review: The Master Undone by Lisa Renee Jones

Posted August 13, 2013 by Ginny in Erotic Romance, Reviews / 5 Comments

Review: The Master Undone by Lisa Renee Jones
The Master Undone by Lisa Renee Jones
Series: Inside Out #2.5
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance, Novella
Published by Pocket Star on August 12th 2013
Format: Ebook
Pages: 40
Source: NetGalley

Also in this series: Rebecca’s Lost Journals, Volume 1: The Seduction
Purchase Links: AmazonBarnes & Noble
Book Links: Goodreads
Overall Rating:

Book Description:

Book Description:
I told him goodbye, and I will not call him. I know if I do, it will be my undoing, and I'll once again be caught up in his spell. I will once again be...lost.

In her private journals, Rebecca laid bare her soul, revealing her obsession for the one man whose erotic demands captivated her imagination--and enslaved her forever. Now, with Rebecca no longer in his life he is lost, questioning everything he thought he knew about himself and about control he holds in such high regard. One women will reach out to heal him and then turn away, leaving him haunted. She is nothing he thought he wanted and somehow everything he needs. He tells himself to forget her but he cannot escape his desire for her. He has to have more...

*** The Master Undone is a part of the Inside Out trilogy, and is told from his POV. ***


Ginny’s Review:
What. The Hell. Was That?!

Oh. My. God!

I simultaneously love and hate Lisa Renee Jones.

I have been reading this series (novels and novellas) from the beginning. I love them. And this novella has been no different than the others in the facts that it is sexy, smart, engaging and ends on a cliff hanger that makes you want to hurl your eReader at the author’s head and demand more.

If you’ve read the other books, you know that Mark Compton is a very complex man. As far as we can tell, he’s not “fifty shades of fucked up” but he IS a very dominant man who wants what he wants, how he wants it and preferably now. This novella takes place in the timeline after the finish of Being Me, the second book in the Inside Out Trilogy. He has just found out devastating news about his previous submissive/lover, Rebecca.

He is also facing going to NYC to visit his mother, the only person he can’t say no to, and being with her and his father as she faces major surgery. It’s scary and frustrating for him being out of control.

The woman who comes to pick him up at the airport intrigues him when he doesn’t want to be intrigued. And she is definitely not Rebecca.

This novella was packed full of sexual tension with one explicit sex scene that I’m certain scalded my fingers as I read it, and then ended abruptly, leaving me quite literally gaping at the screen and trying to scroll for more pages but nothing showed up.

Again, I simultaneously love and hate Lisa Renee Jones right now.

Well played, Ms Jones. Well played.

Book Spotlight & Giveaway: Escaping Reality by Lisa Renee Jones

Posted July 1, 2013 by Sherri in Author Spotlight, Reviews / 0 Comments
Book Spotlight & Giveaway: Escaping Reality by Lisa Renee Jones

Escaping Reality by Lisa Renee Jones Series: The Secret Life of Amy Bensen #1 Genre: Erotic Romance Publish Date: July 22, 2013 400 pages Full first chapter at lisareneejones.com Book Description: He is rich, famous, and secretive and he will become her passion, her desire, her escape from a dark reality she so desperately craves… At the young age of eighteen, tragedy and a dark secret force Lara to flee all she has known and loves to start a new life. Now years later, with a new identity as Amy, she’s finally dared to believe she is forgotten-even if she cannot forget. But just when she lets down her guard down, the ghost’s of her past are quick to punish her, forcing her back on the run. On a plane, struggling to face the devastation of losing everything again and starting over, Amy meets Liam Stone, a darkly entrancing recluse billionaire, who is also a […]

Divider

Review: Being Me by Lisa Renee Jones

Posted June 19, 2013 by Ginny in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: Being Me by Lisa Renee Jones

Being Me by Lisa Renee Jones Series: Inside Out Trilogy #2 Genres: BDSM, Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance, Romantic Suspense Published by Gallery Books on June 11, 2013 Format: Ebook Pages: 336 Source: NetGalley Purchase Links: Amazon ✦ Barnes & Noble Book Links: Goodreads Overall Rating: Book Description:Book Description: NOW OPTIONED TO STARZ for TV! The sexy second installment in the Inside Out erotic romance trilogy, following If I Were You—in the seductive tradition of Fifty Shades of Grey.  Fascinated by the dark fantasies in the journals she’s discovered, and the two men who have now found a place in her life, Sara McMillan finds herself torn between her new life and her past. Now, more than ever, Sara identifies with the lost journal writer, Rebecca, and is certain that something sinister has happened. In the arms of the sexy, tormented artist Chris Merit, Sara seeks answers about Rebecca and ends up discovering […]

Divider

Review: Rebecca’s Lost Journals, Volume 1: The Seduction by Lisa Renee Jones

Posted March 8, 2013 by Ginny in Erotic Romance, Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: Rebecca’s Lost Journals, Volume 1: The Seduction by Lisa Renee Jones

Rebecca’s Lost Journals, Volume 1: The Seduction by Lisa Renee Jones Series: Inside Out #3.2 Genres: Erotic Romance, Romance Published by Pocket Star on January 28, 2013 Format: Ebook Pages: 56 Source: Author Also in this series: The Master Undone Purchase Links: Amazon ✦ Barnes & Noble Book Links: Goodreads Book Description:Book Description: In part one of Rebecca’s Lost Journals, The Seduction, Rebecca meets the rich, darkly alluring man who will draw her into a passionate, intense affair and tempt her into erotic experiences she never thought she would dare.  Hot Excerpt: “He says he will control me, command my body, and show me pleasure like I’ve never known. He will show me trust that is the greatest bond two people can share. He will fuck me senseless, and then do it again and again and again until I know nothing but him. Why does this appeal to me?” Ginny’s […]

Divider