Author: Jeffe Kennedy

Review: Talon of the Hawk by Jeffe Kennedy

Posted May 26, 2015 by Ginny in Reviews, Romance, Science Fiction & Fantasy / 0 Comments

Review: Talon of the Hawk by Jeffe Kennedy
The Talon of the Hawk by Jeffe Kennedy
Series: The Twelve Kingdoms #3
Genres: Epic, Fantasy, Fiction, Historical
Published by Kensington Publishing Corporation on May 26th 2015
Format: eARC
Pages: 438
Source: Publisher

Reviewed by: Ginny
Also in this series: The Mark of the Tala
Purchase Links: AmazonBarnes & Noble
Book Links: Goodreads
Overall Rating:

Book Description:

Three daughters were born to High King Uorsin, in place of the son he wanted. The youngest, lovely and sweet. The middle, pretty and subtle, with an air of magic. And the eldest, the Heir. A girl grudgingly honed to leadership, not beauty, to bear the sword and honor of the king.

Ursula's loyalty is as ingrained as her straight warrior's spine. She protects the peace of the Twelve Kingdoms with sweat and blood, her sisters from threats far and near. And she protects her father to prove her worth. But she never imagined her loyalty would become an open question on palace grounds. That her father would receive her with a foreign witch at one side and a hireling captain at the other--that soldiers would look on her as a woman, not as a warrior.

She also never expected to decide the destiny of her sisters, of her people, of the Twelve Kingdoms and the Thirteenth. Not with her father still on the throne and war in the air. But the choice is before her. And the Heir must lead...


My Thoughts:

I began reading Jeffe Kennedy’s work a little over two years ago… and it’s been a really wonderful journey to take with her through her contemporary, erotic novellas into this full-fledged fantasy romance series.

When I began this series with “The Mark of the Tala” back in June of 2015, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. Sure, she’d written some fantastical shorter novels before, but this seemed different somehow. I wasn’t wrong.

Jeffe Kennedy has joined the ranks of other amazing fantasy writers in creating her own world with its own rules and creatures; it gives you a full escape from reality and you’re swiftly whisked away into the Twelve Kingdoms and the drama and magic that unfolds.

In this third, and final book of the series, you finally get to see things from Ursula’s perspective. Ursula reminds me a little of Brienne of Tarth, from “Game of Thrones”, though the cover art would suggest a slightly more feminine-looking woman. But I digress —

Ursula is the eldest child, the big sister and the heir to the High Throne, much to her father’s dismay. Her father is a man’s-man, close-minded and small. And the depths of his deception surprised even me. But Ursula has been raised to be the son her father never had — a warrior with a code of honor. She’s always been good at handling her father, and taking the barbs he throws her way with the grace that would make any lady proud — she’s a beautiful contradiction.  She’s always attempted to make her father proud until the end of book two when she finally fully defies him and goes her own way to help her sisters.

Enter in Harlan, who is taken with her immediately — a mercenary hired by her father as extra protection for himself, due to his own personal paranoia. Their love story is a beautiful one, and definitely one of the better ones I’ve read in a while. I like the symbiotic relationship they have and how he’ll allow her to be herself, but also demands that she let him see behind the mask that she shows the world. He breaks her down in the best of ways and together they triumph.

This series has left me with a serious book hangover. Do not read this as a standalone novel — buy all three and enjoy the marvelous world that Jeffe Kennedy has created for us all… afterwards, put your own review up and show some love. I am incredibly happy that I was given the chance to review this, and to come full circle after reviewing the first book. You can be damn sure that I’ll be buying the hard copies of books 2 & 3.

Guest Post with Jeffe Kennedy for Rogue’s Paradise

Posted September 28, 2014 by Sherri in Author Spotlight / 5 Comments

Rogues Paradise Banner 851 x 315

Guest Post with Jeffe Kennedy

A lot of us waited a long time for Rogue and Gwynn to consummate their relationship, which finally occurs in Rogue’s Paradise, the culmination of the Covenant of Thorns trilogy. I include myself in that group because I knew from the beginning that their path would never be a straightforward one. Much as I rooted for Gwynn to relent and give in to Rogue – because, hello, he seriously does it for me, too – I also knew she wouldn’t be able to until her doubts were resolved.

After all, she’s no dummy. I never wanted her to fall into the trap of making a bad choice out of emotion or sexual desire.

So I anticipated having fun getting to “be there” when they finally got to enjoy each other fully, but I was surprised how much I enjoyed their growing intimacy and the daily conversations around getting along with each other.

Fans of the first two books – Rogue’s Pawn and Rogue’s Paradise –know that circumstances have conspired to keep Rogue and Gwynn separated a great deal. And, when they do manage to be in the same place at the same time, they’re rarely on the same page about what that means. By this book, however, they’re living together and figuring out how to make that work.

In between fighting off magical attacks, of course.

But I always wanted this series to focus on what a modern woman – Gwynn is a scientist and professor from this era – would do trapped in a place like Faerie and dealing with a lover who isn’t human. Some of my favorite moments come from that perspective. Like:

I wound my fingers together. So odd how I could feel totally at home with Rogue one moment and tentative the next. “So…I’m going to do some planning. Get my act together on several fronts. What are you up to this afternoon?” Catch up on email? Maybe some pickup basketball and a beer with the guys?

And

He’d started shaking his head before I finished talking. “It’s not safe for you to leave the castle until we’re married. And don’t get that look on your face like you get when you start talking about how I want to lock you up. You know full well how tempting you are—for Fafnir’s ilk and others like them. It’s only for a few days.”

“Fine.” I tried to make it sound calm and not irritated.

“Is it fine?” Rogue’s thoughts brushed mine. “Or will you be frustrated by it and brood with your mind hidden?”

“Welcome to marriage with a human woman. How about if we agree I get to stew about it a little bit, but I’ll make an effort to be gracious overall and look forward to increased freedom in the future—will that suffice?”

He smiled, very slightly. “I would also ‘stew’ in your position. We are not so different in that way.”

And

“You don’t have to solve every problem this moment. But do you understand now that if we have any hope of defeating her, then I must do everything I can to protect you?”

“Yes.” I did see. It wasn’t romantic, but the reasons were good ones. More, I believed he’d told me the truth. “But I feel like I’m marrying you for your health insurance or something.”

I love hearing the bits that readers have enjoyed, too, so always feel free to contact me and say so!

Divider

Rogue's Paradise by Jeffe Kennedy

Rogue’s Paradise
by Jeffe Kennedy
Covenant of Thorns Series, Book #3
Genre:  Paranormal Romance
Published September 8th 2014 by Carina Press
Format: Paperback/eBook, 280 pages

Book Description:

Pregnant, possessed, and in love with a man I don’t dare to trust-those are the consequences of the risks I took to save my life. But Faerie, the land of blood and magic, is filled with bitter ironies, and the bargains I made now threaten me and my unborn child.

The darkly sensual fae noble Rogue still tempts me to danger and desire. As we await the birth of our child, I’ve been forced to question whether our offspring is part of a bargain Rogue once made to save himself. He can’t tell me the truth due to a spell the vicious Queen Titania has him under. Would he betray our family against his will? Could I ever forgive him if he does?

Rogue insists on an eternal commitment from me, even as Titania’s forces close in on us. I don’t know if Rogue and I can withstand her onslaught, or that of the beast within me. But I will not stop looking for answers-even if it brings the walls of Faerie crashing down.

Purchase Links:  Amazon  |  Add to Goodread

About Jeffe Kennedy

Jeffe Kennedy is an award-winning author with a writing career that spans decades. Her works include non-fiction, poetry, short fiction, and novels. She has been a Ucross Foundation Fellow, received the Wyoming Arts Council Fellowship for Poetry, and was awarded a Frank Nelson Doubleday Memorial Award. Her essays have appeared in many publications, including Redbook.

Her most recent works include a number of fiction series: the fantasy romance novels of A Covenant of Thorns; the contemporary BDSM novellas of the Facets of Passion, and an erotic contemporary serial novel, Master of the Opera, which released beginning January 2, 2014. A fourth series, the fantasy trilogy The Twelve Kingdoms, hit the shelves starting in May 2014 and a fifth, the highly anticipated erotic romance trilogy, Falling Under, will release starting in July.

She lives in Santa Fe, New Mexico, with two Maine coon cats, plentiful free-range lizards and a very handsome Doctor of Oriental Medicine.

Jeffe can be found online at her website: JeffeKennedy.com, every Sunday at the popular Word Whores blog, on Facebook, and pretty much constantly on Twitter @jeffekennedy. She is represented by Foreword Literary.

Review: Rogue’s Paradise by Jeffe Kennedy

Posted September 28, 2014 by Ginny in Erotic Romance, Fantasy, Paranormal Romance, Reviews / 5 Comments
Review: Rogue’s Paradise by Jeffe Kennedy

Rogue’s Paradise by Jeffe Kennedy Series: Covenant of Thorns #3 Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal Romance Published by Carina Press on September 8, 2014 Format: eARC Pages: 280 Source: Tour Host Purchase Links: Amazon ✦ Barnes & Noble Book Links: Goodreads Overall Rating: Book Description:Book Description: Pregnant, possessed, and in love with a man I don’t dare to trust—those are the consequences of the risks I took to save my life. But Faerie, the land of blood and magic, is filled with bitter ironies, and the bargains I made now threaten me and my unborn child. The darkly sensual fae noble Rogue still tempts me to danger and desire. As we await the birth of our child, I’ve been forced to question whether our offspring is part of a bargain Rogue once made to save himself. He can’t tell me the truth due to a spell the vicious Queen Titania has […]

Divider

Review: The Mark of the Tala by Jeffe Kennedy

Posted June 17, 2014 by Ginny in Fantasy, Reviews / 8 Comments
Review: The Mark of the Tala by Jeffe Kennedy

The Mark of the Tala by Jeffe Kennedy Series: The Twelve Kingdoms Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Paranormal Romance Published by Kensington Publishing on May 27th, 2014 Format: Paperback Pages: 353 Source: Author, Tour Host Also in this series: The Talon of the Hawk Purchase Links: Amazon ✦ Barnes & Noble Book Links: Goodreads Overall Rating: Book Description:Book Description: Queen Of The Unknown The tales tell of three sisters, daughters of the high king. The eldest, a valiant warrior-woman, heir to the kingdom. The youngest, the sweet beauty with her Prince Charming. No one says much about the middle princess, Andromeda. Andi, the other one. Andi doesn’t mind being invisible. She enjoys the company of her horse more than court, and she has a way of blending into the shadows. Until the day she meets a strange man riding, who keeps company with wolves and ravens, who rules a land of […]

Divider

Book Spotlight: The Mark of the Tala by Jeffe Kennedy

Posted May 27, 2014 by Sherri in Book Spotlight / 3 Comments
Book Spotlight: The Mark of the Tala by Jeffe Kennedy

The Mark of the Tala by Jeffe Kennedy Series: The Twelve Kingdoms Trilogy #1 Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult Release Date: May 27th, 2014 Format: eBook, 352 pages Book Description: Queen Of The Unknown  The tales tell of three sisters, daughters of the high king. The eldest, a valiant warrior-woman, heir to the kingdom. The youngest, the sweet beauty with her Prince Charming. No one says much about the middle princess, Andromeda. Andi, the other one. Andi doesn’t mind being invisible. She enjoys the company of her horse more than court, and she has a way of blending into the shadows. Until the day she meets a strange man riding, who keeps company with wolves and ravens, who rules a land of shapeshifters and demons. A country she’d thought was no more than legend–until he claims her as its queen. In a moment everything changes: Her father, the wise king, becomes […]

Divider

Series Spotlight: Ruby by Jeffe Kennedy

Posted May 23, 2013 by Sherri in Book Spotlight, Reviews / 1 Comment
Series Spotlight: Ruby by Jeffe Kennedy

Ruby by Jeffe Kennedy Facets of Passion #3 Publisher: Carina Press Genre: Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance, BDSM Check out our Review   Book Description: Danielle Sosna has no problem denying herself in order to achieve her goals—after all, that attitude landed her a dream job at Vogue Paris. But in New Orleans for one last assignment before heading overseas, she’s faced with the most decadent of temptations. Seductive Cajun chef Bobby Prejean takes Dani’s strength of will as a challenge, and offers her a night of wild indulgence—if she will agree to obey his every command… Dani can’t resist Prejean’s invitation to join him in a world of carnal desire, complete with fetish costumes and masks. Determined to keep her emotional distance, she gives Prejean everything but her name. A night becomes a week, as she spends Mardi Gras suspended…in the delicious space where pleasure meets pain. Too late, she […]

Divider

Review: Ruby by Jeffe Kennedy Series

Posted May 22, 2013 by Sherri in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review:  Ruby by Jeffe Kennedy Series

Ruby by Jeffe Kennedy Series: Facets of Passion #3 Genres: Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance Published by Carina Press on May 13, 2013 Format: Ebook Pages: 122 Source: Publisher Also in this series: Platinum Purchase Links: Amazon ✦ Barnes & Noble Book Links: Goodreads Overall Rating: Book Description:Book Description: Book three of Facets of Passion Danielle Sosna has no problem denying herself in order to achieve her goals — after all, that attitude landed her a dream job at Vogue Paris. But in New Orleans for one last assignment before heading overseas, she’s faced with the most decadent of temptations.  Seductive Cajun chef Bobby Prejean takes Dani’s strength of will as a challenge, and offers her a night of wild indulgence — if she will agree to obey his every command… Dani can’t resist Prejean’s invitation to join him in a world of carnal desire, complete with fetish costumes and masks. […]

Divider

Promo and Review: Platinum by Jeffe Kennedy

Posted February 28, 2013 by Sherri in Book Spotlight, Reviews / 1 Comment
Promo and Review: Platinum by Jeffe Kennedy

Platinum by Jeffe Kennedy Series: Facets of Passion #2 Genres: BDSM, Erotic Romance, Romance Published by Carina Press on February 23, 2013 Format: Ebook Pages: 117 Source: Author Also in this series: Ruby Purchase Links: Amazon ✦ Barnes & Noble Book Links: Goodreads Book Description:Book Description: Althea Grant’s Charleston gallery might be suffering from the bad economy, and her artistic aspirations have gone nowhere, but she’s doing just fine, thank you. When bad-boy sculptor Steel rides up on his motorcycle looking to rent studio space, his infusion of cash is more than welcome. But his art is raw, visceral, sexual — and completely inappropriate for her pastel world of watercolor landscapes. Steel, fascinated by Althea’s rare albino coloring, sees in her the key to his next piece: a metal satyr designed for bondage games. Moving into her gallery basement is the first step; seducing the cool Southern belle into modeling […]

Divider