Author: Claire Ashgrove

Review: Immortal Protector by Claire Ashgrove

Posted May 21, 2013 by Sherri in Reviews / 0 Comments

Review: Immortal Protector by Claire Ashgrove
Immortal Protector by Claire Ashgrove
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal Romance
Published by TOR Books on March 12, 2013
Format: Ebook
Pages: 138
Source: Publisher

Purchase Links: AmazonBarnes & Noble
Book Links: Goodreads
Overall Rating:

Book Description:

Book Description:
After the brutal murder of his seraph, Iain Donnelly's salvation is eternally lost. Damned to become a dark knight of Azazel, he can no longer embrace his immortal purpose as a Templar Knight. When the archangels send him on Sabbatical to find his faith once more, his quest leads him straight into the forbidden arms of a Benedictine Sister, whom Azazel is threatening. But this woman arouses far more than his protective instincts. He wants her as he's wanted no other woman, and he's willing to provoke the archangels’ fury to keep her safe.

Catherine Grady has devoted herself to the fellowship of faith and forged a path of eternal dedication to a higher calling. But when a traffic accident forces her to accept Iain's aid, she discovers that her chosen path is not what her heart craves. Iain awakens a buried yearning to be needed and loved in a way her broken childhood denied her. As she struggles to reconcile her desires, she stumbles into the truth about her heritage, ancient secrets, and unholy danger. Iain's immortality is all that can protect her.

For Iain, it's an impossible choice. The archangels have decreed if he walks away from the Templar, they will reclaim his soul. Yet returning to the Order only guarantees his inevitable death…


Reviewed by Lynn Reynolds
This is an e-book companion to Claire’s popular series. If you have read the other three books, you will want to make sure to read this as well. The only disappointment I had was that it was over way too early.

Ian Donnelly is running an errand for Merrick’s wife. Then he meets Catherine Grady. Claire puts an interesting twist in this companion piece. It will be interesting to see how it works out – this was the hook that reeled me in so that I couldn’t put it down until I was finished.

Ian and Catherine seem to compliment each other – Catherine is quiet and peaceful and Ian is commanding and unsure of himself. Together they are each a half of a whole. When I was first introduced to Catherine, I immediately thought of Maria von Trapp. Sean Connery would make a great Ian – but here he needs a french accent.

If you are a sex junky – you just have to have some heavy petting or more in your stories – Claire will give you just enough in this short story. The scenes are very sensual and in just the right places. She doesn’t put them in just to give you what you want but it fits into the storyline. It also shows how into each other they are.

A lot of people are busy these days but if you have just a couple of hours you can get this read. One good thing, or bad thing depending on how you look at it, is that it will have you looking forward to her next book. I did go over to her site, http://www.claireashgrove.com/index.asp, to see if I could find out about what is in store next for the Order of the Templar but was unsuccessful. I know that I want to see more of this group especially Ian and Catherine. Claire has left me with a question that I’m hoping she will answer at some point in time. (Reviewed by Lynn Reynolds from Romance Reader Enthusiast)

Review: Immortal Trust by Claire Ashgrove

Posted March 24, 2013 by Sherri in Reviews / 1 Comment

Review: Immortal Trust by Claire Ashgrove
Immortal Trust by Claire Ashgrove
Series: The Curse of the Templars #3
Genres: Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy
Published by TOR Books on March 26, 2013
Format: Paperback
Pages: 440
Source: Publisher

Also in this series: Immortal Hope, Immortal Surrender, Immortal Protector
Purchase Links: AmazonBarnes & Noble
Book Links: Goodreads
Overall Rating:

Book Description:
Book Description

When archaeologist Chloe Broussard accepts the contract to lead a dig in Ornes, France, she has no idea she will uncover the Veil of Veronica. When she does, she discovers a danger far greater than the demons she's confronted since childhood. Azazel wants her, as well as the Veronica, and his chosen minion is her brother. Her hope lies with immortal Templar Knight Lucan. Her life depends on oaths she knows nothing about.

For countless centuries, Lucan of Seacourt has lived with the knowledge that his brother killed their family. Now, as Azazel's darkness eats away at his soul, old betrayal stirs suspicion. He trusts no one. Not even the seraph who can heal his dying spirit.

With the fate of the Almighty hanging in the balance, Lucan must find faith in something more terrifying than the dark lord's creations. He must learn to believe his heart.


Lynn’s Review
Lucan of Seacourt is on a mission to find his Seraph. Chloe Broussard is a woman who likes to dig around old places. She’s a woman that seems to be in her own little world – when it comes to artifacts. She doesn’t seem to realize that people may want to talk to her. I find myself wondering, as the story progresses, what type of research Claire had to go through in order to be accurate when talking about dig sites and archaeology.

This is a book that has you so caught up in the history of their findings. It made me wish that I was part of the discovery. Can you imagine being a part of an unveiling of things that existed long before any of us were ever born? How fragile some of those things must be and how they came to be buried.

This is a series that I have been glad that it is part of my library. I get so involved with Claire’s characters that everything else just seems to disappear. I always have a hard time putting it down – I keep telling myself “just one more page.”

This book can be read on its own but if you want to stay true to the series, please make sure to read the first two books. If you go to her web site, http://www.claireashgrove.com/index.asp, you will find out that she also has an e-book companion novella titled Immortal Protector that will be out on March 12. If you like this series as much as I do, you may want to also read this novella before her next book makes its appearance. (Reviewed by Lynn from Romance Reader Enthusiast)

Review: Immortal Surrender by Claire Ashgrove

Posted October 3, 2012 by Sherri in Fantasy, Reviews / 4 Comments
Review: Immortal Surrender by Claire Ashgrove

Immortal Surrender by Claire Ashgrove Series: The Curse of the Templars #2 Genres: Fantasy, Romance Published by 7th House, TOR Books on September 25, 2012 Format: Ebook Pages: 448 Source: Author Also in this series: Immortal Hope, Immortal Trust, Immortal Protector Purchase Links: Amazon ✦ Barnes & Noble Book Links: Goodreads Overall Rating: Book Description:Book Description: Farran de Clare, loyal member of the cursed Knights Templar, wants nothing to do with predestined mates. Even the Almighty won’t turn him into a fool again—he’d rather sacrifice his soul. Yet in the scientist Noelle Keane, a devout atheist, Farran meets the seraph designed for him. Ordered by the archangel Gabriel to protect Noelle, the possessor of a sacred relic that could give Azazel incredible power, Farran swears to do his duty—but in name only. Fighting an attraction that grows with each day, he’s determined that he’ll never pledge himself to her. As […]

Divider

Review: Immortal Hope by Claire Ashgrove

Posted January 26, 2012 by Sherri in Reviews / 6 Comments
Review: Immortal Hope by Claire Ashgrove

Immortal Hope by Claire Ashgrove Series: The Curse of the Templars #1 Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal Romance Published by TOR Books on January 03, 2012 Format: Ebook Pages: 368 Source: Author Also in this series: Immortal Surrender, Immortal Trust, Immortal Protector Purchase Links: Amazon ✦ Barnes & Noble Book Links: Goodreads Overall Rating: Book Description:Book Description: CENTURIES AGO, Templar knights defied the archangels and unearthed the copper scroll, revealing the gates to hell. Cursed for their forbidden act, they forever roam the earth protecting mankind from evil. But darkness stalks them, and battles they fight bring them ever-closer to eternal damnation. One promise remains to give them salvation – the return of the seraphs. Embittered by his purpose, Merrick du Loire must honor an ancient pact and bring peace to his cousin’s soul. When he stumbles upon history professor Anne MacPherson, he discovers she possesses a sacred artifact that marks her […]

Divider