Author: C.J. Ellisson

Walk on the Wild Side by CJ Ellisson Book Tour

Posted May 22, 2014 by Sherri in Book Spotlight / 3 Comments

all 4 books
Welcome to Urban Girl Reader’s stop on the “Walk on the Wild Side Tour!” To celebrate the tour, each of the novels is now on ebook special at the various retailers. Check out this series if you are a fan of hot, steamy romances!!

Excerpt from Chapter 5 of Avoiding Mr. Right.
We’re in Carla’s POV: She’d like to avoid Andy at work and the difficult topic he brings up.

“We still haven’t talked about our night together. How long do you intend to put me off?”

Forever? Damn, I was afraid this would happen. Holding in the heavy sigh longing to escape, I face my pushy co-worker. “No offense, but I’m not interested in dating an accountant.”

“Excuse me?” His tone comes out sharper than I’ve ever heard from him. “Do you think I’m not worthy of you because of my job?”

“Umm… no. Sorry.” That’s exactly it, but saying so is bitchier than I’d like. I switch to the next file and give him my back. “Listen, it was a fun night and all, but I want more excitement. Something spicy.”

His footsteps behind me are barely audible over the hum of the copier. Hands rest on my hips and I tense. “You have no idea what you want. You could have excitement right in front of you and you wouldn’t know what to do about it.”

Annoyed, I whip around to face him, dislodging his hands. “Really? And you think I don’t remember the tolerable three minutes we shared?”

His deep blue eyes darken in anger and he leans closer, crowding my space. “I think you recall someone named Johnny and seem to be attributing some of our time together to a dream about him.”

A blush creeps up my cheeks, I do remember having dreamed about an old college flame, but how the hell does he know that? “Umm… I…”

“You called out his name,” his warm breath tickles my lips, “while I pleasured you.”

Startled by the revelation, I dart to the side and make for the door. “I don’t know what you’re talking about.”

His voice whispers when the copier cycles down, “You’re sexy when you let down your guard.”

I turn to face him. He takes two quick strides and captures my mouth. His lips press against mine and a coil of heat unravels in my middle. A warm hand caresses the back of my head, gently drawing me closer.

I open my mouth to protest and his tongue slips inside to spar with my own. The rush of blood pounding through my veins brings a tingly feeling that halts my words before they form. His wide open eyes stare into my own, challenging me with the heat I see simmering in their depths.

His mouth tastes like fresh coffee heavily laced with cream. My knees weaken at the intensity and warmth pouring off him. He nibbles on my bottom lip and a spike of pleasure jolts down my spine, jarring me from the spell he’s weaving.

I place two hands on his chest and push him away. Our lips break and a shudder runs through me. “What the hell was that?” My tone sounds indignant, but my body betrays me with arousal.

Andy smiles, a slow, indulgent curve of his lips. His tongue slips out to run along his full mouth. “I think you know exactly what that was.” He boldly reaches out a hand and runs a finger over my right nipple, peaked hard and pressing against the inside of my bra.

I swat his hand away.

“It’s passion, Carla. Don’t fight it.”

Divider

VoT-500px_opt


VANILLA ON TOP

Walk on the Wild Side: Heather and Tony, Book 1
Author Name: C.J. Ellisson
Genre: Contemporary Erotic Romance
Publisher: Entangled
Date of Publication: Jan 2013
ISBN: 9781622667987
ASIN: B00BFQEFPY
Number of pages: 260
Word Count: 65k
Formats available: epub and mobi
Cover Artist: Heather Howland

VANILLA ON TOP will be on sale for 99 cents from May 18th to the 31st.

AVAILABLE FROM: Amazon US

Blurb/Book Description:

Discover your inner bad girl, and set her free…

Heather Pierce is done being a wallflower, both personally and professionally. Desperate to live a different life for one night, she attends a speed dating event. Maybe here, anonymous unless she chooses otherwise, she can become someone new. When a man way out of her league sits across from her, Heather gathers her courage and takes charge of what she wants, secretly fearing he won’t desire the real person she’s desperate to hide.

Top acquisitions officer and international playboy Tony Carmine is about to close the biggest deal of his career. But then he meets Heather at a speed dating event . . . and discovers losing control may be exactly what he needs. Her blossoming sensuality occupies his every thought, consuming him with the need to possess the most intriguing lover he’s ever encountered-until he walks into the boardroom and sees Heather on the other side of the negotiating table.

Divider

CJEllisson_LovingMsWrong_800_opt


LOVING MS. WRONG

Walk on the Wilde Side: Best Friends, Book 2
Author Name: C.J. Ellisson
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Red Hot Publishing
Date of Publication: In a bundle March 2014, as a stand alone free read May 2014
ISBN: 9781938601309
ASIN: B00K6YL8AQ
Number of pages: 84
Word Count: 21k
Formats available: ePub .mobi
Cover Artist: Kim Killion

Loving Ms. Wrong (a novella) will be listed for FREE from May 18th to the 31st.

AVAILABLE FROM: Amazon | Smashwords

Blurb/Book Description:

Katrina attends a birthday party for her friend Carla. Little does the health food storeowner know that the fateful girls night out will change her life forever.

Marcus, the polished metrosexual who hates to get his hands dirty, stumbles upon the ladies at a local bar. Sparks fly when the two meet, courtesy of a 12-sided sex dice and a night neither one will ever forget.

Divider

CJEllisson_VanillaTwist800_opt
VANILLA TWIST

Walk on the Wild Side: Heather and Tony, Book 2
Author Name: C.J. Ellisson
Genre: Contemporary Erotic Romance
Publisher: Red Hot Publishing
Date of Publication: Feb 2014
ISBN: 9781938601255
ASIN: B00ICAUB22
Number of pages: 210
Word Count: 55k
Formats available: ePub .mobi
Cover Artist: Kim Killion

VANILLA TWIST will be on sale from May 25rd to the 31st

AVAILABLE FROM: Amazon US

Blurb/Book Description:

Heather thinks she has it all—an interesting lover, a dream job, and a new wardrobe to match her take-charge attitude. But everyone has a past, and when Heather confronts hers at work she’ll be hard-pressed to hold onto her newfound confidence and resolve. Does she trust Tony enough to let him help her or will she tackle the issue on her own?

Still intrigued by the young woman and the multiple layers she presents to the world, Tony begins to change his life, too—for what he hopes is the better. He quit his high-powered career to find peace in a less stressful day-to-day existence. Desire for Heather still invades his every waking moment, and when trouble threatens their sexual explorations he makes the hardest choice of his life. One he may soon regret.

Divider

CJEllisson_AvoidingMrRight_800_opt (1)
AVOIDING MR.RIGHT
Walk and the Wild Side: Best Friends, Book 1
Author Name: C.J. Ellisson
Genre: Contemporary Erotic Romance
Publisher: Red Hot Publishing
Date of Publication: June 2013
ISBN: 9781938601156
ASIN: B00D69AJEY
Number of pages: 180
Word Count: 45k
Formats available: ePub & mobi
Cover Artist: Kim Killion

AVOIDING MR.RIGHT will be on sale from May 25rd to the 31st

AVAILABLE FROM: Amazon USA

Blurb/Book Description:
In order to take control, you often have to let it go…

Carla Johnson thinks issuing orders to a lover will keep her heart safe and leave her in charge of her own destiny. Afraid for Carla’s future, her best friend Heather implores her to change her self-centered ways, handing her a list of love life mistakes to steer clear of:

1. Casual Sex
2. Friends with Benefits
3. Avoidance of Intimacy

Carla ignores the list—unwilling to face she might have a commitment problem. Until she invites a co-worker to her place one night. She instantly regrets the hum-drum sexual encounter and discourages the accountant from pursuing her.

Andy Shea refuses to become another lover the feisty blonde dumps. It’ll take a patient man with a strong hand to unlock Carla’s sexual awareness and win her heart. He’s up for the challenge to convince her he’s the one—and eager to prove this number cruncher won’t make a boring bedmate.

About C.J. Ellisson

C.J. Ellisson is the USA Today Bestselling author of the New York Times Bestselling book, Vanilla on Top, the bestselling V V Inn series, and several erotica shorts. She lives in northern Virginia with her husband, two children, three dogs, and a fluffy black cat who makes her sneeze.

Unlike most full-time authors, she's also battling severe chronic illness. C.J. works daily to put her Lupus into remission and continues to fight numerous bacterial infections while her immune system slowly attacks her body. She turned to writing when she could no longer work outside the home and claims the escape of penning contemporary fantasy, erotica, and erotic romance has helped save her sanity.

 

Girls Night Out, Volume II

Posted April 13, 2014 by Sherri in Reviews / 0 Comments

Girls Night Out, Volume II
Girl's Night Out, Volume II by C.J. Ellisson, Calinda B, Lila Dubois, Patricia A. Wolf
Genres: Anthology, Erotic Romance, Paranormal, Romance
Published by TBR eBooks on March 16, 2014
Format: Ebook
Pages: 294
Source: Author

Purchase Links: AmazonBarnes & Noble
Book Links: Goodreads
Overall Rating:

Book Description:

One touch, one kiss, one night…can change everything. Join New York Times Bestseller C.J. Ellisson, Calinda B, Patricia A. Wolf and Lila Dubois for four stories of red-hot erotic romance and sexy paranormal magic. From encounters with a vampire, a birthday party gone wild, a super-hot male stripper who’s more than human, and a sexy new game at a BDSM club, this collection of stories has everything you need to spice up your spring.

Kissed by a Vampire
By Patricia A. Wolf
Lost in passions Sarah never dreamed possible, she wonders if a seductive encounter could lead to something more. But when Michael stands her up, she realizes it was all a fantasy.

Can a second chance meeting bring back the passions they once felt? Or will his vampire secret destroy everything?

The Beckoning of Beguiling Things
By Calinda B.
Can 24 hours really change your life? Marissa Engles is about to find out. When she heads to Las Vegas with her sisters and her best friend, she meets sexy, Thunder from Down Under dancer Chris King and hits the jackpot, in more ways than one.

A secret magical society, an evil sorcerer, and a powerful male watching her from the sidelines add to the intrigue. And King himself has a dark secret that may prove Marissa’s undoing. Everything hinges on whether Marissa’s willing to leap without looking and face the consequences.

Loving Ms. Wrong
By C.J. Ellisson
Katrina attends a birthday party for her friend Carla. Little does the health food storeowner know that the fateful girls night out will change her life forever.

Marcus, the polished metrosexual who hates to get his hands dirty, stumbles upon the ladies at a local bar. Sparks fly when the two meet, courtesy of a 12-sided sex dice and a night neither one will ever forget.

A is for…
By Lila Dubois
When the overseers of LA’s most exclusive BDSM club declare the start of a sexy new game that all members must play, Anna has no choice but to participate. Master Jensen knows who, and what, he wants—Anna—but before he can have her he’ll have to prove to the lovely submissive that he can master every letter of the alphabet.


Lynn’s Review:

Kissed by a Vampire by Patricia A. Wolf

Sarah Messer is not happy about her friends’ choice of venue for her bachelorette party.  The way she describes herself, makes her someone a lot of us can probably relate to.  Michael is friends with the bride and groom.  He’s also a man who wants to find that one special woman.  And then he meets Sarah.

The paranormal aspect in this story is understated but that’s not a bad thing since it’s all about the connection between our couple.  The ending leaves the reader with a way of giving Sarah and Michael what they feel this couple should have.  This was a great way to start off this anthology.  This is an author that I look forward to reading more of her work.

Loving Ms. Wrong by C.J. Ellison

This story is told in the first person.

Katrina Namaste is going to a friend’s birthday party.  While out on the town, she meets Marcus.  Their conversation is very sexually charged.  This one may give you ideas for your own girls night out.  This is a story where two people sit, have a conversation, and get to know one another.  The reader also has the chance to get to know them at the same time.

It may also leave you wanting to take a trip to an adult book or toyshop.  Games aren’t just for kids after all.  You just may want to send any children to a friend’s or the grandparent’s house.

Katrina appears to be an alpha female once she lets loose and Marcus seems to be happy letting her take that role.  The only disappointment I had was that I felt that they had an HFN ending.  But it does leave it open for the reader to decide if it will go on from there.  And on a great note, the author does let the reader know that this is part of a series.  And if you stop over to her web site, and you’ve read some of her work, the light bulb may go on when you realize that you’ve read the other books in the series.  If not, make sure you read them.

Beguiling Things by Calinda B.

This story is also told in the first person and it also can be considered paranormal.

Marissa Engles is in Las Vegas with her sisters and a friend to let their hair down.  She’s trying to fly but her sisters are acting like old mother hens.  Her friend is behind her decisions.  Chris King happens to work at an all-male revue.  And if you need any inspiration, the actual group has a web site – you have got to check it out! (And this is where I wish there was video with this book).  He’s a man who appears to have some secrets.

This story makes you question if there is someone that “plots your future.  Or are we the masters of our own destiny?  Maybe someone up above is pulling our strings.  Our author doesn’t rush anything – nothing before it’s time.  The reader gets to experience everything Marissa does – as if we are in Vegas too.

Calinda is very good at teasing her readers – frustrating but in a good way.  She then has a “No way!” ending.  I had to go back and see if I missed something.  As I go to her web site, the good news is that this story is part of a series.  The sad part was I couldn’t find out what comes next.  So that just means that I will have to follow this author to see what else she has in store for her readers.

A is For…BDSM by Lila Dubois

BDSM Checklist, Book One

This story comes with a warning – sounds more like a challenge to me.  Are you game?

Anna’s a woman who likes to push her sexual boundaries.  This tale will have you enthralled as you experience everything that Anna and Master Jensen allow.  This may make you question are you a sub or a Dom.

This is one story that may give you ideas to try out with your partner.  This story begs the question, “How far are you willing to go in order to explore your sexual boundaries?”  Or even to make your partner happy.  This is another story, within this anthology, where a trip to the “store” may be required.  It will push your emotions and boundaries if you let it.  Make sure to pay close attention in this one because as you get toward the end, a light bulb will go on.

This anthology would be a great gift to give all of your girlfriends.  It might even make a great group read.  I have found three new authors to follow and one that I continue to love her work.  It’s a set where the heat level builds with each story.  By the end, you may need something to cool you down.

You will find that when you read each story that you will not want to put it down until you get to the end.  Each one goes by too quickly but be careful of who’s looking over your shoulder.  This is one to enjoy by yourself – lots of dream material available.  I think that you can’t go wrong by adding this to your library.

Book Spotlight & Giveaway: Avoiding Mr. Right by C.J. Ellisson

Book Spotlight & Giveaway: Avoiding Mr. Right by C.J. Ellisson

Avoiding Mr. Right by C.J. Ellisson Series: Walk on the Wild Side #2 Genre: Contemporary Romance, Erotic Publish Date: June 3, 2013 160 pages Book Description: Carla Johnson thinks issuing orders to a lover will keep her heart safe and leave her in charge of her own destiny. Afraid for Carla’s future, her best friend Heather implores her to change her self-centered ways, handing her a list of love life mistakes to steer clear of: 1. Casual Sex 2. Friends with Benefits 3. Avoidance of Intimacy Carla ignores the list—unwilling to face she might have a commitment problem. Until she invites a co-worker to her place one night. She instantly regrets the hum-drum sexual encounter and discourages the accountant from pursuing her. Andy Shea refuses to become another lover the feisty blonde dumps. It’ll take a patient man with a strong hand to unlock Carla’s sexual awareness and win her heart. He’s up for the challenge to convince […]

Divider

Review: Avoiding Mr. Right by C.J. Ellisson

Review: Avoiding Mr. Right by C.J. Ellisson

Avoiding Mr. Right by C.J. Ellisson Series: Walk on the Wild Side #2 Genres: Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance Published by Red Hot Publishing on June 3rd 2013 Format: Ebook Pages: 130 Source: Author Also in this series: Vanilla on Top Purchase Links: Amazon ✦ Barnes & Noble Book Links: Goodreads Overall Rating: Book Description:Book Description: Carla Johnson thinks issuing orders to a lover will keep her heart safe and leave her in charge of her own destiny. Afraid for Carla’s future, her best friend Heather implores her to change her self-centered ways, handing her a list of love life mistakes to steer clear of: 1. Casual Sex 2. Friends with Benefits 3. Avoidance of Intimacy Carla ignores the list—unwilling to face she might have a commitment problem. Until she invites a co-worker to her place one night. She instantly regrets the hum-drum sexual encounter and discourages the accountant from pursuing […]

Divider

Review: Vanilla on Top by C.J. Ellison

Posted February 12, 2013 by Sherri in Reviews / 7 Comments
Review: Vanilla on Top by C.J. Ellison

Vanilla on Top by C.J. Ellisson Series: Walk on the Wild Side #1 Genres: BDSM, Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance Published by Entangled Brazen on January 10, 2013 Format: Ebook Pages: 160 Source: Publisher Also in this series: Avoiding Mr. Right Purchase Links: Amazon ✦ Barnes & Noble Book Links: Goodreads Overall Rating: Book Description:Book Description: Discover your inner bad girl, and set her free… Heather Pierce is done being a wallflower, both personally and professionally. Desperate to live a different life for one night, she attends a speed dating event. Maybe here, anonymous unless she chooses otherwise, she can become someone new. When a man way out of her league sits across from her, Heather gathers her courage and takes charge of what she wants, secretly fearing he won’t desire the real person she’s desperate to hide. Top acquisitions officer and international playboy Tony Carmine is about to close the […]

Divider