Author: Angela Roquet

Review: For the Birds by Angela Roquet

Posted June 14, 2013 by Sherri in Reviews / 0 Comments

Review: For the Birds by Angela Roquet
For the Birds by Angela Roquet
Series: Lana Harvey, Reapers Inc. #3
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Published by Createspace on April 14, 2013
Format: Ebook
Pages: 240
Source: Personal Copy

Also in this series: Graveyard Shift, Pocket Full of Posies
Purchase Links: AmazonBarnes & Noble
Book Links: Goodreads
Overall Rating:

Book Description:

Book Description:

Lana Harvey isn't just any reaper. She's the new captain of the Posy Unit, a specialty group dedicated to harvesting mass quantities of souls from natural disaster sites, battlefields, and the like. The new title didn't come without a price though. Lana made some promises along the way, and now it's time to follow through... even if that means putting herself in the path of the three Fates, a fickle and mighty force to be reckoned with. The Fates run a soul recycling plant in Limbo City, and if Lana isn't careful, they just might recycle her.


Newly appointed captain Lana Harvey is doing her very best to keep her life drama free. She’s in a stable relationship with the demon Bezelbub and she’s doing everything in her power to keep her captain record squeaky clean. Unfortunately, she’s made enemies all throughout Eternity and now they’ve decided to use her to send an important message to her friends and supporters: leave the fate of Eternity alone or else.

Lana has definitely come full circle in this third installment of Reapers, Inc. She now has fully accepted her responsibility as the protector of Eternity’s ‘chosen one’ Winston and also as being a captain of the Posey Unit. This book really focuses on Lana holding up her end of the deals she made in Pocket Full of Posies. The top item on her priority list is finding a replacement for Winston, the one responsible for the peace Eternity continues to benefit from. We didn’t get to see too much of Winston in this book, but I have a suspicion that he won’t be in the shadows for the next installment (you will be releasing another installment, right Angela?? Come on, don’t leave us hanging!).

I love Lana. She’s the classic heroine who is thrust into either doing what’s right or staying out of the spotlight to lead a normal life. I like how down to Earth she is despite having the fate of her world resting more or less on her shoulders. And my favorite parts of the book are the compassion she shows towards the souls she reaps. Khadija (the original Winston and the one who originally united Eternity) was right: Lana really is one of a kind.

And Beezelbub just fascinates me. He’s dark, mysterious and yummy all wrapped up in a red suit. We get to see some softer sides of the Devil’s right hand man which I really appreciate. I wouldn’t mind learning more about his background in another installment, but his character compliments Lana beautifully. Of course, the big bad Grim himself doesn’t fail to deliver, becoming more menacing and definitely a threat to Lana. As usual, Roquet leaves us begging for more!

Fans of Graveyard Shift and Pocket Full of Posies will love For the Birds. I highly recommend it and give this book 5 out of 5 stars for great characters, a continually fascinating world and excellent story telling.
F315E08AB189414D182952C46BF4C82A

 

[mantra-multi][mantra-column width=”1/2″]

(Click Link for UGR’s Reviews)

[/mantra-column] [/mantra-multi]

Review: Pocket Full of Posies by Angela Roquet

Posted April 18, 2013 by Sherri in Reviews / 0 Comments

Review: Pocket Full of Posies by Angela Roquet
Pocket Full of Posies by Angela Roquet
Series: Lana Harvey, Reapers Inc. #2
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Published by Infinity Publishing on August 19, 2012
Format: Ebook
Pages: 252
Source: Author

Also in this series: Graveyard Shift
Purchase Links: AmazonBarnes & Noble
Book Links: Goodreads
Overall Rating:

Book Description:

Book Description

The promise of peace in Limbo City is threatened once again, but this time the terrorists have a more specific target in mind: Lana Harvey. The up and coming reaper thought passing her classes at the Reaper Academy was going to be her biggest challenge, but when a rebel demon sends her apartment up in flames, she realizes that her victories from the previous year haven’t gone so unnoticed after all… To make matters worse, the Afterlife Council has taken notice of Lana too. The Egyptian god Horus is blackmailing her into joining the Posy Unit so she can do an illegal side job for him, and Cindy Morningstar, Lucifer’s daughter, insists that she take a two week training course with the devilishly tempting Beelzebub, much to her angelic boyfriend’s chagrin.


Alisha’s Review:

Everyone’s favorite Reaper Lana Harvey is back again, funnier than ever! She has her plate full as Grim’s new go-to girl for harvesting souls while she attends Grim Reaper classes by day and trains with the Devil’s right hand man by night. Lana finds herself caught in the middle of saving Eternity once again when strange terrorist attacks start happening around the city. Can she save her home while keeping her sanity?

I love everything about Lana Harvey! Angela Roquet does it again by thrusting us into the political world of everyone’s afterlife and introducing awesome new characters that only make Eternity’s story richer. Lana grows up a bit during this book, finally having to come out from under the radar and play with the big boys and girls. She stays true to her character, of course, but following her in uncomfortable situations is a treat. She also has more of a love life, juggling her relationship with the angel Maalik and Hell’s bad boy Bezelbub. And it’s always fun seeing the different ‘harvesting’ situations that ends up on Lana’s docket. Her friends get more of the action too and they help round out Lana’s stubbornness along with introducing a few side stories.

Personally, outside of Lana I have to say my favorite character is Grim (that’s right, the original Grim Reaper himself). He doesn’t have too much to say and there’s not much of a back story, but I found myself looking forward to Lana meeting up with him throughout the book. Grim’s character has so much mystery behind him that you can’t help be intrigued!

Graveyard Shift introduces us to the ‘behind the scenes’ characters of the afterlife. It was interesting to note that Lana, in her own right, has become a reluctant messiah for the other deities of Eternity and in Pocket Full of Posies she finally has to come to full terms with it.

If you’ve enjoyed the first volume of Lana Harvey, Reapers Inc., you’ll love this addition! I absolutely devoured this book and I have to give it 5 out of 5 stars!

(Also, the third book For the Birds has just been released! Stay tuned for a review!)

Review: Graveyard Shift by Angela Roquet

Posted April 18, 2013 by Sherri in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: Graveyard Shift by Angela Roquet

Graveyard Shift by Angela Roquet Series: Lana Harvey, Reapers Inc. #1 Genres: Urban Fantasy Published by Createspace on September 25, 2009 Format: Ebook Pages: 241 Also in this series: Pocket Full of Posies Purchase Links: Amazon ✦ Barnes & Noble Book Links: Goodreads Overall Rating: Book Description:Book Description The Inferno has Evolved… Lana Harvey is a reaper, and a lousy one at that. She resides in Limbo City, the modern cpital of the collective afterlives, where she likes to stick it to the man (the legendary Grim Reaper himself) by harvesting the bare minimum of souls required of her. She’d much rather be hanging out with Gabriel, her favorite archangel, at Purgatory Lounge. But when a shocking promotion falls in her lap, Lana learns something that could unravel the very fabric of Eternity. If the job isn’t completed, there could be some real hell to pay. Alisha’s Review: Reaper Lana […]

Divider