Review: For the Birds by Angela Roquet

Posted June 14, 2013 by Sherri in Reviews / 0 Comments

Review: For the Birds by Angela Roquet
For the Birds by Angela Roquet
Series: Lana Harvey, Reapers Inc. #3
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Published by Createspace on April 14, 2013
Format: Ebook
Pages: 240
Source: Personal Copy

Also in this series: Graveyard Shift, Pocket Full of Posies
Purchase Links: AmazonBarnes & Noble
Book Links: Goodreads
Overall Rating:

Book Description:

Book Description:

Lana Harvey isn't just any reaper. She's the new captain of the Posy Unit, a specialty group dedicated to harvesting mass quantities of souls from natural disaster sites, battlefields, and the like. The new title didn't come without a price though. Lana made some promises along the way, and now it's time to follow through... even if that means putting herself in the path of the three Fates, a fickle and mighty force to be reckoned with. The Fates run a soul recycling plant in Limbo City, and if Lana isn't careful, they just might recycle her.


Newly appointed captain Lana Harvey is doing her very best to keep her life drama free. She’s in a stable relationship with the demon Bezelbub and she’s doing everything in her power to keep her captain record squeaky clean. Unfortunately, she’s made enemies all throughout Eternity and now they’ve decided to use her to send an important message to her friends and supporters: leave the fate of Eternity alone or else.

Lana has definitely come full circle in this third installment of Reapers, Inc. She now has fully accepted her responsibility as the protector of Eternity’s ‘chosen one’ Winston and also as being a captain of the Posey Unit. This book really focuses on Lana holding up her end of the deals she made in Pocket Full of Posies. The top item on her priority list is finding a replacement for Winston, the one responsible for the peace Eternity continues to benefit from. We didn’t get to see too much of Winston in this book, but I have a suspicion that he won’t be in the shadows for the next installment (you will be releasing another installment, right Angela?? Come on, don’t leave us hanging!).

I love Lana. She’s the classic heroine who is thrust into either doing what’s right or staying out of the spotlight to lead a normal life. I like how down to Earth she is despite having the fate of her world resting more or less on her shoulders. And my favorite parts of the book are the compassion she shows towards the souls she reaps. Khadija (the original Winston and the one who originally united Eternity) was right: Lana really is one of a kind.

And Beezelbub just fascinates me. He’s dark, mysterious and yummy all wrapped up in a red suit. We get to see some softer sides of the Devil’s right hand man which I really appreciate. I wouldn’t mind learning more about his background in another installment, but his character compliments Lana beautifully. Of course, the big bad Grim himself doesn’t fail to deliver, becoming more menacing and definitely a threat to Lana. As usual, Roquet leaves us begging for more!

Fans of Graveyard Shift and Pocket Full of Posies will love For the Birds. I highly recommend it and give this book 5 out of 5 stars for great characters, a continually fascinating world and excellent story telling.
F315E08AB189414D182952C46BF4C82A

 

[mantra-multi][mantra-column width=”1/2″]

(Click Link for UGR’s Reviews)

[/mantra-column] [/mantra-multi]