Review & Giveaway: The Love Shack by Christie Ridgway

Posted April 2, 2013 by Sherri in Contemporary Romance, Reviews / 0 Comments

Review & Giveaway: The Love Shack by Christie Ridgway
The Love Shack by Christie Ridgway
Series: Beach House No. 9 #3
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Published by Harlequin HQN on March 26, 2013
Format: Paperback
Pages: 384
Source: Publisher

Also in this series: Beach House No. 9, Bungalow Nights
Purchase Links: AmazonBarnes & Noble
Book Links: Goodreads
Overall Rating:

Book Description:

Book Description:
Globe-trotting photojournalist Gage Lowell spent carefree childhood summers in Crescent Cove. Now that he desperately needs some R & R, he books a vacation at Beach House No. 9—ready to soak up some sun and surprise old friend and property manager Skye Alexander. Their long-distance letters got him through a dangerous time he can’t otherwise talk about. But when
he arrives, the tightly wound beauty isn’t exactly happy to see him.

Skye knows any red-blooded woman would be thrilled to spend time with gorgeous, sexy Gage. But she harbors secrets of her own, including that she might just be a little bit in love with him. And she’s convinced the restless wanderer won’t stay long enough for her to dare share her past—or dream of a future together. Luckily for them both, summer at Crescent Cove has a way of making the impossible happen….


Sherri’s Review:
This is the first book of Christie Ridgway’s that I’ve read and it will not be the last. The Love Shack is the third book in the Beach House No. 9 series; however, it can be read as a stand alone novel. So don’t hesitate to pick it up since it’s the third book.

The Love Shack centers around Gage and Skye, but there is also a heart stealing secondary romance between sexy fireman Teague and Skye’s friend Polly. I can’t decide which I liked best; so I’m ecstatic that I don’t have to choose.

The main story though centers around Gage and Skye who are both emotionally damaged. Their story is one of healing and both of them learning to trust again. I won’t say what has scarred each of them, since as in the story that is there to tell, but needless to say each are only existing and not really living. Together, they learn to heal and live again.

One aspect of Gage and Skye’s relationship that was enjoyable was their correspondence before Gage came back to Crescent Cove. I liked how their letters were woven into the main story to provide greater depth and insight into the characters. As a side note I would take a pen pal in the guise of Gage anytime!!!!

Overall, The Love Shack is an emotionally romantic story that is perfect for beach time, summertime reading. Fans of Susan Mallery, Jill Shalvis and Kristan Higgins should check this author out if you haven’t already done so; I know I will.

About Christie Ridgway

Christie Ridgway's exposure to romance began when she was 11 and was looking at teen heartthrobs within the pages of Tiger Beat. After that, she was a woman obsessed. So, she began writing her own stories featuring her teen idols. Ridgway's own real-life romance plays out like one of her novels, meeting her future husband at college in Santa Barbara. With dreams of becoming a published author, Ridgway worked as a technical writer and computer programmer. She rediscovered romance novels during the nap times of her children, when she realized that this was her calling. Author Robyn Carr says that Ridgway's Three Kisses trilogy captures "the true magic of falling in love." The trilogy which focuses on the Baci sisters and their family winery is continued in a novella, "Original Zin," which is now available in an electronic version.

GIVEAWAY

a Rafflecopter giveaway